Diary of an Intern #2

South Africa's busiest road: N1, Midrand, at TomTom launch

Hello, dear readers! Sadly I don’t have a Weekend Treasures post for you today but I do have a quick update concerning my first day as an intern.

After a night of waking up every hour for fear of missing my alarm, I woke up before the sun in order to get ready and give myself enough time to navigate peak hour traffic.  I wore a dress my mom and I picked out for the specific purpose of a work outfit.  Everyone warned me of the hectic Johannesburg traffic that I would have to brave, but it actually wasn’t as bad as I expected. I arrived an hour early which I spent sitting in my car while the security guard eyed me suspiciously.  Finally, after what felt like an eternity, it was time to go to the magazine offices and attend my first meeting.

So what did I actually do on my first day?  Once the meeting was over, I was given the task of researching content for the December issue.  Any new local or international luxury restaurants, hotels, spa’s and clubs that would appeal to the magazine’s target market.  I thought that this would be an easy task, but it ended up taking me almost the entire day to compile a list and get all the available contact info.  I have to type it up and email it to the editor tomorrow morning, so I hope it’s right! In the end it was quite different from what I expected, but I enjoyed my first day! I was asked to prepare some questions for tomorrow and I intend on gleaning as much knowledge from the experience as possible.

We’ll see what tomorrow holds…

 

 

 

{photo source: Axel Bührmann’s Flickr}

Leave a comment