Moments

Can someone please point me to the Pause button? This year is going too fast and I would just like to take a moment to step back and say “Slow down!” I was watching The Vow again over the weekend and this quote just struck me:

My theory is about moments, moments of impact. My theory is that these moments of impact, these flashes of high intensity that completely turn our lives upside down actually end up defining who we are. The thing is each one of us is the sum total of every moment that we’ve ever experienced with all the people we’ve ever known. And it’s these moments that become our history. Like our own personal greatest hits of memories that we play and replay in our minds over and over again.”
-The Vow

Our lives are made up of a whole bunch of moments. And they seem to pass by pretty quickly. Recently, through things that have happened, I’ve realised again how quickly life can change. One moment of impact can completely turn your life around. So even though life does not have the convenience of a Pause button it is up to us to treasure each moment we’re given on earth with thankfulness to the One who gives life.

And now, this brings me to something that I have found helps me take notice of the moments I find myself in each day. Fat Mum Slim came up with the brilliant idea of taking a photo every day and thereby documenting a moment from every day. Since first taking part in this challenge during December and again in May I’ve seen how the small action of taking a photo every day makes me more aware of the moments I find myself in each day. If it wasn’t for this challenge I probably would not have noticed the way the shadows play on the wall in the late afternoon or the way the autumn leaves gleam like gold when the sun strikes them just so. It’s a simple exercise. Give it a try. I know you want to.

Here are some moments from the past few days, inspired by the prompts on this list:

1. I bought this!
2. Morning ritual
3. This is really good!
4. In my cup
5. Paper
6. Broken
7. Something beginning with F
8. Shape
9. A snack

{photos from my Instagram feed}

Leave a Reply

