Plettenberg Bay Holiday part 1

In December I spent a week in the beautiful seaside town of Plettenberg Bay with my family. We had a lovely time surrounded by some amazing sights and I would love to return there soon. There is loads to do in the town and I feel that I didn’t have time to experience it all. Plettenberg Bay (or Plett, as the locals call it) has some beautiful beaches, restaurants and quaint shops to explore. Here are a few places to see and things to do:

  • Harkerville market – a fresh food market open on Saturdays, about 10km outside Plett. We enjoyed some delicious lemon meringue tarts and coffee and bought some fresh fruit and veg before pouring rain forced us back to the car.
  • Plett’s main beach – perfect for swimming or walking. You can walk along the beach to a lookout point or enjoy sundowners at a restaurant overlooking the ocean.
  • Le Fournil de Plett  – lovely little bakery and café in the courtyard at the Lookout Centre. Definitely worth a visit!
  • The Lookout centre – this centre has some other nice shops too, like Love Actually where I wanted  to buy literally everything in the shop.
  • Knysna Elephant Park – this is a must-see if you love animals and would like to touch or ride an elephant. These majestic creatures took my breath away and I’ll never forget the experience of touching them and walking with them.

SDC17995_editSDC18003_edit SDC18007_edit SDC18015_edit SDC18033_edit SDC18046_edit SDC18050_edit SDC18058_edit SDC18080_editSDC18074_edit SDC18086_edit
SDC18079_edit SDC18075_editSDC18120_edit SDC18102_edit SDC18101_edit SDC18094_edit

Come back on Monday for part 2 featuring some more places to see and things to do in Plettenberg Bay and the other half of my photos.

I gave the blog a new look, what do you think? All part of my 2013 goal to blog better!

Happy first Friday of 2013, dear readers! Have a good weekend!

{photos by me}

Leave a Reply

