Inspired by: Eclectic Interiors

The word eclectic is generally used to describe interiors that are made up of  seemingly opposed elements. Different time periods, styles, textures and trends are mixed yet the end result is not disorderly despite all the varied elements. I usually like interiors to look  homogeneous but the rooms below challenge me and I actually like their look. Animal hide rugs are often used in eclectic interiors and create an interesting contrast in texture.

What do you think? What does eclectic mean to you when used to describe an interior?

{photos’ source: 1, 2, 3, 4}

2 thoughts on “Inspired by: Eclectic Interiors

  1. brassowldesign

    I would say that my design is eclectic. With my blog only being a baby at 2 days old, I don’t have pictures up yet. But I will definitely post pics of my eclectic home. To me eclectic means designing with objects that you love and they will always come together to make a very personalized home that you feel comfortable in. So I have different styles, colors, textures, and patterns. I think eclectic style can be really dynamic when it is done right.

    Reply
    1. Susan Post author

      That’s a great description of eclectic decorating and its elements. I look forward to seeing the pics of your home! Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

