Secondhand books…

“Second hand books are wild books, homeless books; they have come together in vast flocks of variegated feather, and have a charm which the domesticated volumes of the library lack”
– Virginia Woolf

I totally agree with the above quote by Miss Woolf! I can never resist entering a bookstore, especially a secondhand one.  I love how you know that each book has a history, a time when it was read by someone else, somewhere else and that it impacted this person in some or other way.  One of my favourite books I own is my secondhand copy of To Kill a Mockingbird, with writing in the margins and the appearance of a well-loved book that was read many times.  When buying a secondhand book I love speculating about where this book has travelled and how it ended up here.  I think that is what Miss Woolf is speaking about when she says they are wild and homeless books.

What do you think, dear readers? Do you prefer new or secondhand books, and why?

2 thoughts on “Secondhand books…

  1. greengeekgirl

    I buy a lot of secondhand books, mostly because it’s the most cost-efficient and eco-friendly way of acquiring books. I also love the adventure of book-hunting in the clearance aisle of Half Price Books ^_^ I love that quote by Virginia Woolf.

    (btw, my name is also Susan 😉 )

    Reply
  2. Susan Post author

    Hi Susan 🙂
    I’ve never thought of secondhand book-buying as eco-friendly! True!
    And I agree, book sales are simply awesome.
    I also checked out your blog, pretty cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

