Holiday Part 1 – Roadtrip!

Sunset in the Free State

A very cold winter morning in Colesberg where we spent the night

Darling Street in the small town, Hanover

Old church in HanoverWe even had some rain

Another old church in Beaufort West

And then it was green as soon as we hit the Western Cape!

Our journey started with a roadtrip of 14 hours spread over 2 days.  As we left Gauteng it was freezing cold and the first few hours of our trip was in the bleak, wintery Free State. Watching the sun setting over the fields while waiting at a roadblock (so many roadworks on the N1!) was the highlight of the day. We drove to Colesberg where we stayed for the night. I am truly thankful for the air conditioner that was in the room, or else I would certainly have frozen.  Even at 8 in the morning the thermometer was still at freezing point!

After driving a while we decided to take a small trip through the small Karoo town of Hanover. At 9 o’clock on a Sunday morning the streets were still deserted. I’m so glad we drove to the old church, it’s really a beautiful old building.  A bit later we stopped for breakfast at a petrol station in a-place-so-small-I-can’t-remember-its-name. There I took a photo of the windmill and the sign for homemade ginger beer.

One thing I love about South Africa is the diversity in the landscapes. In one day you will see the rolling fields of the Free State, the lush mountainous Western Cape winelands and white sandy beaches at the coast. All in one day! And in the small ‘plattelandse’ towns you will almost always see a beautiful church.

After 2 days on the road we finally reached our first destination – Hermanus. And that is all for the first installment of holiday photos!

Please keep in mind that I am not one of the lucky people with DSLR and I do not consider myself a photographer at all.  I just like taking photos of things that catch my eye with my little point and shoot camera!

Hope you enjoyed seeing a bit of this beautiful country I call home!

One thought on “Holiday Part 1 – Roadtrip!

  1. Pingback: Holiday Part 2 – Hermanus | Trinkets and Treasures

Leave a Reply

